A. The time it takes to obtain your permit depends on the method you use to register:
- REGISTER ONLINE: If you register your business for Sales Tax, Room Occupancy or Over-the-counter Cigarette Dealer (Retailer) using the TSC Online Registration Option, a temporary permit will be available to print immediately. BE SURE TO PRINT A COPY FOR YOUR RECORDS. Once you have the temporary permit you may begin using it immediately. The Confirmation Number will serve as an official acknowledgement that your application has been received by DRS and act as your temporary tax identification number. You will receive your registration package with your permanent Connecticut tax registration number in approximately 10 business days. There is a fee to register for Sales Tax, Room Occupancy or Over-the-counter Cigarette Dealer (Retailer). If you register online, you must make direct payment from your savings or checking account. Credit Card payments are not accepted.
- REGISTER BY MAIL: If you complete Form REG-1, Business Taxes Registration Application, and mail it to DRS, you will receive your tax registration number in the mail in about two to three weeks.
- REGISTER IN PERSON: If you register in person at our Hartford office, you will receive your tax registration number immediately. You will receive your registration package with your permanent Connecticut tax registration number in approximately 10 business days by mail.
Visit our Registration Page for information.
This answer is intended to provide general information concerning a frequently asked question about a current position, policy, or practice associated with the taxes administered by the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services. It may include an informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by the Department of Revenue Services (DRS). However, it is not intended to serve as a legal ruling.