A. Yes. You must file a sales and use tax return for every reporting period, even if none of your sales made during the reporting period were subject to tax. You must show the total gross receipts of all of your sales on Lines 1-3 and the complete the proper deduction lines on the back of the return to show why tax was not charged. You must also retain with your records proper documentation showing the sale was exempt from tax. For example, if your gross receipts from sales of goods was $10,000 for the period, report the $10,000 on Line 1. If $5,000 of the sales was exempt from tax because you shipped the goods directly to the buyer in another state, enter $5,000 on Line 33 "out-of-state - sales of goods". If the remaining $5,000 in goods was sold to a nonprofit organization, enter $5,000 on Line 40, "charitable or religious organizations - sales of goods".
This answer is intended to provide general information concerning a frequently asked question about a current position, policy, or practice associated with the taxes administered by the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services. It may include an informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by the Department of Revenue Services (DRS). However, it is not intended to serve as a legal ruling.