A. Penalty for a late tax payment by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) is as follows:
· 2% of the tax due for EFT payments not more than 5 days late;
· 5% for EFT payments more than 5 days but not more than 15 days late; and
· 10% for EFT payments more than 15 days late.
The Interest amount is charged at the rate of 1% per month or fraction of a month from the due date until the date of the payment.
You may be able to have your penalty waived if the failure file or pay tax on time was due to a reasonable cause. Interest cannot be waived. Before a penalty waiver can be granted, all tax and interest must be paid. Follow the directions on How to Request a Penalty Waiver.
This answer is intended to provide general information concerning a frequently asked question about a current position, policy, or practice associated with the taxes administered by the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services. It may include an informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by the Department of Revenue Services (DRS). However, it is not intended to serve as a legal ruling.