Connecticut Department of Revenue Services
Return to CT.Gov Home
State of Connecticut Department of Revenue Services
Taxpayer Answer Center
 Frequently Asked Questions 
Email DRS
 My Mailbox 
  show accessible links  
 Search by Category View Category Hierarchy
  Search Tips 

  Answer ID  
  Select a Category  
  Sales and Use Tax
    Sales Subject to Tax
      Digital Downloads
      Discount Cards
      Environmental Services
      Home Health Aids
      Payroll Processing
      Portable Toilet Rentals
      Roof Warranties
      Satellite Radio
      Solar Energy

 Printer Friendly Version of This Answer  Print Answer

 Email This Answer  Email Answer
  Sales tax on clothing

Q. Is the sale of clothing subject to sales tax?


A. The general sales tax rate of 6.35% applies to most sales of clothing and footwear. A tax rate of 7% applies to the sale for more than $1,000 of an article of clothing or footwear intended to be worn on or about the human body, a handbag, luggage, umbrella, wallet or watch.

NOTE: 2015 Legislation changes repealed the the clothing exemption going into effect July 1st. Clothing and footwear remain taxable. Exemption for clothing and footwear costing less than $50 is NOT restored on July 1, 2015.

There is a one-week exclusion every year for clothing and footwear costing less than $300 per item. The exclusion week for clothing and footwear is from the third Sunday in August through the following Saturday. For details, review IP 2015(22), Annual One-Week Sales and Use Tax Exclusion for Clothing and Footwear Costing Less Than $100.

(Updated: 2015)

This answer is intended to provide general information concerning a frequently asked question about a current position, policy, or practice associated with the taxes administered by the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services.  It may include an informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by the Department of Revenue Services (DRS).  However, it is not intended to serve as a legal ruling.

  Users who viewed this answer have also viewed
Back to Search Results
  Back to Search Results  

Home | home | Send Feedback

State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2002, 2003, 2004 State of Connecticut.